Prospects Dashed

29 04 2011

These next few weeks are going to be interesting. Having just got back to uni for my final term, I’ve been informed that I have to attend some lengthy bore-fests things called ‘exams’ which also, cruelly enough, require extensive preparation beforehand.

Bother.

You see, May looks pretty good for games: there’s L.A. Noire, which looks astounding but isn’t out on PC so no dice, but more importantly there are two games for the mighty desktop powerhouse – and exclusives, I might add – that I am pretty excited for. First there’s Mount and Blade: With Fire and Sword (mini-preview here and big preview here), which may just be a glorified musket-mod for Warband but will likely munch up my spare hours nonetheless, since the series is the most voracious devourer of time this side of a supermassive black hole.

More importantly, for my epic RPG needs at least, there’s The Witcher 2: Assassin’s of Kings, which could well show Bioware’s Dragon Age 2 a trick or two. I already think that of the initial games in both series, CD Projekt Red’s first-time effort was much the better game than Bioware’s odd mimicry of RPG times past, but we’ll have to wait and see if Geralt the Witcher can overcome Hawke the Champion in the battle of the fantasy RPGs. Unfortunately, I won’t find out until June, because the release date falls a few days before my exams start. If I hear good things upon release, however, I might jack in this degree business, pump myself up to the eyeballs on mutagens and go monster-hunting. Don’t forget the silver sword, now.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

